Pilgrims who visited the Holy Land between the IV and VII century


Columns from a Roman building in Milan

Early-Christian mosaic floor from Aquileia

The Triglav summit in the Julian Alps

The Text: 2. From Milan to Sirmium
    City of Mediolanum (Milan) [pct.4]- miles x.
    Halt at Cold Rivers - miles xii.

    [558] Total from Arles to Milan 475 miles, 63 changes, 22 halting-places.

    Change at Argentia (Gorgonzola) - miles x.
    Change at Pons Aureolus
    (Pontirolo) - miles x.
    City of Bergamum
    (Bergomum, Bergamo) - miles xii.
    Change at Tellegate
    (Telgate) - miles xii.
    Change at Tetellus - miles x.
    City of Brixa
    (Brixia, Brescia) - miles x.
    Halt at Flexus
    (Ponte S. Marco) - miles xi.
    Change at Beneventum - miles x.
    City of Verona
    (Verona) - miles x.
    Change at Cadianum
    (Caldiero) - miles x.
    Change at Aurei - miles x.
    [559] City of Vincentia (Vicentia, Vicenza) - miles xi.
    Change at the frontier - miles xi.
    City of Patavium
    (Padova) - miles x.
    Change at the twelfth milestone - miles xii.
    Change at the ninth milestone - miles xi.
    City of Altinum
    (Altino) - miles ix.
    Change at Sanus - miles x.
    City of Concordia
    (Concordia) - miles ix.
    Change at Picilia - miles ix.
    Change at the eleventh milestone - miles x.
    City of
    Aquileia (Aquileia) [pct.5] - miles xi.

    Total from Milan to Aquileia 251 miles, 24 changes, 9 halting-places.

    Change at the eleventh milestone - miles xi.
    [560] Change at Fornolus - miles xii.
    Change at the Camp - miles xii.

    Here rise the Julian Alps [pct.6].

    To Pirus upon the summit of the Alps - miles ix.
    Halt at Longaticum
    (Logatec) - miles x.
    Change at the ninth milestone - miles ix.
    City of Emona
    (Aemona, Ljubljana) - miles xvi.
    Change at the fourteenth milestone - miles x.
    Halt at Hadrante
    (Adrans, St. Oswald) - miles xiii.

    Frontier of Italy.

    Change at Mediae - miles xiii.
    City of Caelia
    (Celeia, Celje) - miles xiii.
    [561] Change at Lotodos - miles xii.
    Halt at Ragendo
    (Ragando) - miles xii.
    Change at Pultovia - miles xii.
    City of Petovio
    (Ptuj) - miles xii.

    You cross the bridge (on the river Drava) [pct.7], and enter Lower Pannonia.

    Change at Ramista - miles ix.
    Halt at Aqua viva - miles ix.
    Change at Populi - miles x.
    City of Jovia - miles ix.
    Change at Sunista - miles ix.
    [562] Change at Peritur - miles xii.
    Halt at Lentolae
    (Lentulae, Berzentze) - miles xii.
    Change at Cardonum - miles x.
    Change at Cocconi - miles xii.
    Halt at Serota
    ( Veröcze) - miles x.
    Change at Bolentia - miles x.
    Halt at Mauriana
    (Mariniana) - miles ix.

    You enter Upper Pannonia.

    Change at Serena - miles vii.
    Halt at Verei - miles x.
    Change at Jovalia
    (Valpovo) - miles viii.
    Change at Mersella
    (Petrojevci) - miles viii.
    City of Mursa
    (Osijek) - miles x.
    [563] Change at Leutuanum - miles xii.
    City of Cibalae
    (Vinkovci) - miles xii.
    Change at Celena - miles xi.
    Halt at Ulmus - miles xi.
    Change at Spaneta - miles x.
    Change at Bedulia - miles viii.
    City of
    Sirmium (Mitrovica) - miles viii.

    Total from Aquileia to Sirmium 412 miles, 77 halting-places, 39 changes. [follows]

Pages: Home | Previous | Next <> Maps: Europe | Asia | Palaestina | Jerusalem

cyber logo footer
Please fill in our Guest book form - Thank you for supporting us!
Project, design, research and realization carried out by Eugenio Alliata ofm,
assistant professor of Christian Archaeology at SBF-Jerusalem.
Updated Thu, Dec 9, 1999 at 04:47 by John Abela ofm - Space by courtesy of Christus Rex
logo logo